You’re Not a Terrible Parent

Not sure how I stumbled upon this little gem, a father speaking of his time parenting his 3 boys all under 5 with his wife. but I did and it was very eye opening…

http://www.huffingtonpost.com/steve-wiens/let-me-be-the-one-who-says-it-out-loud_b_3209305.html

If you are a parent of small children, you know that there are moments of spectacular delight, and you can’t believe you get to be around these little people. But let me be the one who says the following things out loud:

You are not a terrible parent if you can’t figure out a way for your children to eat as healthy as your friend’s children do. She’s obviously using a bizarre and probably illegal form of hypnotism.

You are not a terrible parent if you yell at your kids sometimes. You have little dictators living in your house. If someone else talked to you like that, they’d be put in prison.

You are not a terrible parent if you can’t figure out how to calmly give them appropriate consequences in real time for every single act of terrorism that they so creatively devise.

You are not a terrible parent if you’d rather be at work.

You are not a terrible parent if you just can’t wait for them to go to bed.

You are not a terrible parent if the sound of their voices sometimes makes you want to drink and never stop.

You’re not a terrible parent.

All of these sound too familiar to me and I only one 2 year old! Recently it’s the constant whining, the impossible mission of putting a diaper on a wiggly child with freakish strength, the tantrums that cannot involve having socks on his feet during said times, the pointing to something saying “mommmmmyyy” but wants NOTHING in sight, the list goes on and on. Do I always handle it in the best ways? Hell to the no. But I’m not a terrible parent, just a parent with “sky-scraper standards for parenting.”

Since my wedding vows are no longer existent in a marriage, but I loved them dearly, I think pieces hold true between my son and I. Promises I want to make to him…..  

I promise to stand beside you through thick and thin, through good times and bad, through joy and sorrow

I want to spend the rest of my life hearing your thoughts and seeing your dreams

I promise to do my best to make our lives better and to fulfill our dreams together

This is my solemn vow

……..only now this is to my son 

2 thoughts on “You’re Not a Terrible Parent

  1. your right you are not a terrible parent — your a single parent. that in itself is enough of a task. your strength and patience thru these last few months has been amazing. and i remember the days these words were originally said, and a unspoken token was dropped in the sand, i can say i know that day you ment it & i know today you do as well. keep fighting with those socks — you’ll win one day. 😉

Leave a Reply

